Select Page

Secret Sleuth Books 1-2

Set sail for a new McLinn series!
Death on the Diversion, a whodunit with humor about the inner world of writers, set among the insular cruise ship community,begins a new cozy mystery series from the USA Today bestselling author of the Caught Dead in Wyoming series. In Death on Torrid Avenue and later books, amateur sleuth Sheila Mackey returns to dry land in the Midwest, where mysteries abound in her new home in small-town Kentucky.

Book 1: Death on the Diversion
Sheila Mackey has a secret. To the world, she’s author of a blockbuster book. Her wily great-aunt, the actual author, orchestrated this mutually beneficial masquerade. Now the aunt’s retiring and Sheila must draft Act Two of her own life. This cruise is supposed to be the perfect time to do that.
Crossing the Atlantic on the Diversion, Sheila finds a dead body on deck.
She’s drawn into sleuthing but finds herself hampered by a well-meaning but overprotective would-be Dr. Watson.

"A totally unique protagonist -- witty, grounded, human. An intriguing crime venue. I hope there are many more in this series." -- 5* Amazon reader

Book 2: Death on Torrid Avenue
Sheila turns her back on a Manhattan lifestyle and the publishing world that once defined her to put down roots near the Ohio River in North Bend County, Kentucky. Here, she finds a new life, a new home and a new love: Gracie, the rescue collie. Then Gracie discovers a body at the dog park, a ticklish situation for an amateur sleuth with a big secret of her own. Will Sheila untangle the murder mystery before her secrets are untied, exposing her previous identity to her new neighbors?

When Sheila Met Elizabeth

Patricia McLinn Secret Sleuth Caught Dead in Wyoming American murder mystery cosy cozy whodunit prequel novellaCurious about accidental sleuth Sheila Before the Murders?  Then click below to sign up for your free copy of the bonus prequel novella of that name, following Sheila and and her great-aunt Kit as they meet broadcast TV reporter Elizabeth Margaret Danniher of my Caught Dead in Wyoming series and tackle a non-murderous mystery in a historic London hotel.

Get to know Sheila and Kit six months before Death on the Diversion — and the Secret Sleuth series — starts. Read this exclusive novella for free by joining Patricia’s ReadHeads and also receive free, twice monthly newsletters.

Join Patricia’s ReadHeads and get Before the Murders for free!